Data plans can be changed at any time and they are updated instantaneously.
Plan upgrade (going to a more expensive plan) changes mid-month are pro-rated based on remaining days in billing cycle. Plan downgrades (going to a cheaper plan) will incur no cost, but will not be refunded.
Learn more about changing plans here.
Data pools can only be changed for the upcoming month. For more information on data pools, visit this page.