How billing works

Payment methods

Hologram accounts are billed from a pre-paid Account Balance that can be filled with a credit card on file, or using a bank account for enterprise plans. 

Billing period

The billing period for a data plan is 30 days, beginning from the time of activation. At the end of the billing period, Hologram renews your SIM's plan and deducts the platform fee—the monthly active device charge—from the organization's account balance.

As long as there is a remaining balance in your account, the device’s service will automatically renew at the end of a billing period. If your account balance cannot cover the cost of renewing a device’s data plan, you will receive an email notification 24 hours before the end of the billing period. 

For pay-as-you-go plans, data usage above what your plan provides, and outgoing SMS, we charge your account in real time. If your account balance reaches zero, we may pause your SIMs without warning. To prevent this from happening, we suggest configuring auto-refill.

Note: Data Pool plans do not draw from account balance and are billed directly on the 1st of the month from a credit card on file. You can read more about the breakdown of charges here.

Helpful links

To add balance to your Hologram account, follow the steps in this guide.

Hologram’s auto-refill feature allows users to automatically charge a credit card on file whenever the account balance gets below an amount designated by the user. Though it’s not required, we strongly recommend enabling this feature to avoid service interruption, which occurs when your account has a negative balance.

We’ll send you an email receipt each time we charge your credit card. You can also view an in depth history of your billing information from the Hologram Dashboard under Account Billing.

For an overview on charges on your bill, see What is the breakdown of charges per SIM?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful